Glove box light - Fiat 500x Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2017, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Question Glove box light

Hi I'm just wondering if anyone else has come across this issue - my glove box light has worked absolutely fine until the other day when it stopped working. Suspecting the bulb i removed the unit and checked the bulb. which looked ok, I noticed that the light unit is the same as the one in the boot so I swapped them over - the light from the glove box worked fine in the boot but the one from the boot wouldn't work in the glove box. Is there possibly a switch for the glove box light, I've looked but can't see one The manual doesn't seem to cover the glove box at all so that's no help
Derek60 is offline  
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-02-2017, 05:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Bucks
Posts: 147
Hi,

Yes there is a switch which might have been wedged in the off position. From memory it's on the right hand side of the glovebox but if you look around the edge of the glovebox with the door open you'll see it.

There is a plug for the light unit which behind the glovebox which might have become loose, you'll need to remove the glovebox to get to it though which is aremarkably involved job...

One other thing to check would be the fuse, the manual will tell you which one is it - though as it will have other circuits or lights on the same fuse so if those work you can rule that out.

Hewesy

Hewesy

2015 500X Pop Star, 1.4
hewesy is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 05:00 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Hi Hewesy
Thanks for the reply - I've had another look around the glove box with a torch and cannot see any switch.
Derek60 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 07:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
The switch will be activated when you open the glove box, otherwise the light would stay on all the time.
Is it not built into the catch mechanism?
Chestnut is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 09:47 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Hi I've found it now thanks - its behind the glove box on a panel at the back so as you shut the glove box the back of it pushes the switch in. The switch seems to be working ok i.e. not stuck in but the light still doesn't work. I've checked the fuses and bulb and both ok so I'm assuming there is a fault in the connections between the switch and the bulb somewhere, I'll get my dealer to look at it next time the car goes in for service - I don't want to start taking the glove box to pieces to find the fault and as the car is still under warranty I don't want to invalidate the warranty
Derek60 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-09-2017, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Bucks
Posts: 147
Fair enough Derek, from what I read when I was going to run my dashcam to the fuse box the glovebox needs a serious pull to remove, I'd leave for the dealer too.

If you need a pollen filter at the next service they have to remove the glovebox to get to that, so should be sorted gratis.

Hewesy

Hewesy

2015 500X Pop Star, 1.4
hewesy is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-27-2017, 12:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Wonder if a wire has come loose from behind the switch then or something like that? Anyway, thanks for clarifying where the switch is.
Kristoff is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome